ancient Australia

World Heritage Sites in Australia

Australian World heritage sites that are nominated for World Heritage listing are inscribed on the list only after they have been approved as representing the very best examples of the world’s cultural and natural heritage. Australia currently has 20 sites on the World Heritage List.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: The Australian Convict Sites 

The Australian Convict Sites are the preeminent examples of our rich convict history, with more than 3000 convict sites remaining around Australia, unique in the world today. Together these sites represent the global phenomenon of convictism – the forced migration of convicts to penal colonies in the 18th and 19th centuries – and global developments in the punishment of crime in modern times.  You can find these sites in Sydney, Tasmania, Norfolk Island and Fremantle.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Australian Fossil Mammal Sites

The Australian Fossil Mammal Sites at Naracoorte in South Australia and Riversleigh in Queensland. Among the world’s 10 greatest fossil sites they show the key stages in the evolution of the unique fauna of Australia. Riversleigh, north-west of Queensland, is Australia’s most famous fossil site with fossil remains of reptiles that lived during the Oligocene and Miocene ages.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Fraser Island

Fraser Island is the largest sand island in the world. It is also the largest island of Queensland and the 8th largest island in Australia.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Gondwana Rainforests of Australia

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia, formerly known as the Central Eastern Rainforest Reserves has the most extensive areas of subtropical rainforest in the world. Few places on earth contain so many plants and animals which remain relatively unchanged from their ancestors in the fossil record.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: The Great Barrier Reef

The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef ecosystem on earth. The Great Barrier Reef is found in the Coral Sea of the coastal waters of Queensland, north-eastern Australia.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Greater Blue Mountains Area

Blue Mountains
Blue Mountains

The Great Blue Mountains Region is a World Heritage site within New South Wales. It is an area of panoramic views, rugged tablelands, cliffs, deep valleys and waterfalls.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Heard and McDonald Islands

The Australian Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands. The only sub-Antarctic island group that has an intact ecosystem, where no known species has been introduced by humans.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Kakadu National Park

Kakadu National Park is located in the Northern Territory of Australia. Kakadu is one of four Australian sites included on the World Heritage List for both cultural and natural outstanding universal values. It also holds 10% of the worlds Uranium.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Lord Howe Island Group

The Lord Howe Island Group is located in the Tasman Sea between Australia and New Zealand. comprises of Lord Howe Island, Admiralty Islands, Mutton Bird Islands, Ball’s Pyramid, decorated with coral reefs and marine life. The islands have spectacular landscapes, including volcanic mountains, rainforests, palm forests and grasslands.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Macquarie Island

Macquarie Island is the only island in the world made entirely of oceanic crust and rocks from the mantle, deep below the earth’s surface. It is geoscientist and a nature lovers dream.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Purnululu National Park

Purnululu National Park, located in the Kimberley region of Western Australia, covers almost 240,000 hectares of remote area managed as wilderness. It includes the bee hive shaped Bungle Bungle Range. 

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens

The Royal Exhibition Building was built in Melbourne’s Carlton Gardens during 1879 and 1880 for the 1880 Melbourne International Exhibition. It is one of the great enduring monuments to the International Exhibition movement. The rectangular heritage area is hedged by Victoria Street, Rathdowne Street, Carlton Street and Nicholson Streets in Melbourne. The Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens have “historic, architectural, aesthetic, social and scientific” importance for the state of Victoria.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Shark Bay

Shark Bay in Western Australia, the Shark Bay region contains many plant and species that are unique in beauty and abundance, it has evolving habitats and species, it’s a window in time, and is a wildlife refuge.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Sydney Opera House

The Sydney Opera House is an example of late modern architecture. Designed by Jørn Utzon it pushed architecture and engineering to new limits. The design represents an interpretation of Sydney Harbour, it is in the World Heritage List of UNESCO since 2007.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Tasmanian Wilderness

The Tasmanian wilderness is region that evidences severe glaciation, with their steep gorges, covering an area of over 1 million hectares, one of the last temperate rainforests in the world. Remains found in limestone caves evidence human occupation of the area for more than 20,000 year.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Ningaloo Coast

The Ningaloo Coast in Western Australia displays outstanding universal value of the area’s diverse and abundant marine life.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park

Uluru Australian wonders
Uluru Australian wonders

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park (Formally known as Ayers Rock) in the Norther Territory is an iconic world-famous sandstone monolith, 9.4 kilometres in circumference rising to over 340 metres above the ground. Rock art can be found in the caves around its base.

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Wet Tropics of Queensland

The Wet Tropics of Queensland is a region of amazing scenery with rivers, gorges, waterfalls, and mountains. One of the largest rainforest areas in Australia containing the Daintree River valley and Cape Tribulation. 

World Heritage Sites in Australia: Willandra Lakes Region

The Willandra Lakes Region contains a vast number of two million year old ancient lakes. Aborigines lived on the shores of the lakes for at least 50,000 years, and the remains of a 40,000 year old female found in the dunes of Lake Mungo is believed to be the oldest cremation site in the world.